Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

The Spirited BSA TFN’er

with 3 comments

Rider turned Support Crew. That's the spirit!

If you worried about falling off the bike, you’d never get on – says the legendary Lance Armstrong.

Falls and bruises, sprains and aches are constant companions for a cyclist. Although uninvited, they are regular visitors. Some are ignorable whereas some might catch you unawares.

When Navin Mathew, a rider on the BSA Tour Of Nilgiris had a nasty fall on Day 3 riding from Hassan towards Madikeri, he reckoned it wasn’t serious. Closer examination by the Doctor on call, Dr. Renu revealed that he had gotten a hairline fracture on his left wrist. He could not ride further.

I caught up with Navin on one of the days on the tour and asked him how he felt about the whole situation and why he stayed back. He said –

I’ve been elevated to the level of support guys! Doing the BSA TFN was on my bucket list and I was determined to do the tour no matter what. Being unable to ride was a setback but I still wanted to get to know the people and experience the tour. I was not going to let the injury stand in my way. I have unfinished business and will be coming back to the tour …

Now, I would have labeled such enthusiasm as plain craziness but then to be on the BSA TFN, you’ve got to have a crazy corner in your mind. If that wasn’t enough, in order to keep the adrenalin pumping, Navin did a 10k walk along with Dr Renu, one fine day on the tour.

Written by Sangfroid

December 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

Posted in TFN

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i have come to the conclusion that bikers are a crazy lot. especially because the nilgiris do not sound half as manic a route as the roads of mumbai – where ‘serious bikers’ are increasingly being spotted these days. given the heavy smog and traffic they seem to be constantly battling…i really wonder what makes them do it…!

    mentalie

    December 27, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    • Basically, the urge to make the world a little less crazy, a little saner, safer, healthier….

      Sameer

      December 28, 2009 at 11:50 pm

  2. Considering the fact that I was waiting for this tour for a long long time, when Dr Renu told me that my “tour was over”, I was disappointed. I was given a choice of either returning to Bangalore or being a part of the Support team.
    “No way Bangalore” I was not going to quit yet.
    I had resolved to experience the tour injury or no injury.
    Infact, this was a wise decision. I got to meet some awesome folks with amazing stories to tell. I can hardly wait to ride again on TFN. It may be too early to tell if I can make it to TFN ’10, but I am definitely coming back as a Rider, but until then..
    TFN is ‘Mission Incomplete’

    Navin

    December 29, 2009 at 5:24 am


Leave a Reply

