Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

BSA Tour Of Nilgiris 2009 comes to a close

with 4 comments

At Queens Residency, Ooty - The BSA TFN Gang


Dec 24th at the MC Resort, Bandipur marked the official close of the epic BSA Tour Of Nilgiris 2009. As riders got off the saddle at the resort, they were greeted with applause, cheers and congratulations, on a job well done.

The 36 hairpin bends on the Kalhatti Ghats were descended in a jiffy by most and the total distance on Day 8 was the least too. But this didn’t mean it was an easy grand finale. The undulations within the Bandipur National Park proved hard for some, as a result they walked with their bikes, for some distance.

Upon reaching the resort in Bandipur, there were seen two Volvos and, that was it. These Volvos were to ferry the riders to Bangalore.

The BSA Tour Of Nilgiris 2009 had ended.

Bikes being packed & loaded in the truck


But with an end to a tour like this, many new beginnings are forged.

Over lunch, which was courtesy GetOffYourAss.com, I asked riders their experiences and, if they would be up for the challenge next year as well.

Shilpa Garg jokingly said – It wasn’t so tough. She was happy as well as relieved that she had done it.

Shahid Khan said – I would love be on the tour again. I came in with two months of training this time. It’ll be better next year

Bharani Shivakumar is sure he is gonna be on the tour next year – Of course! I’ll be there but, on a road bike next time. Let’s see.

In fact, most riders I talked to want to do the circuit again.

Madhukar Rajagopal, interestingly, had a different viewpoint – I’ll give it a pass. I will cherish the experience of this year all my life. And give others a chance to experience the same.

While riders packed their bikes, good-byes were being exchanged and I had a hard time doing that. Saying Good Bye, I mean. Not packing the bikes. At about 4PM, I left Bandipur with Peevee as pillion. It felt surreal as we entered Bangalore. The last eight days had sped past at a frantic pace. It was a feeling similar to when I’d returned after my Ladakh Bike(Oops … Motor-Bike, I mean) Trip, last year. For the record, I clocked 1150kms on this tour. Like the riders, the memories from this tour would be etched in my mind forever.

As I write this, riders are merry-making at the BSA TFN Cool Off Party in Bangalore. Not all will be there for the evening but they’ll certainly be talked about and missed.

Kudos to all the riders and support crew for pulling off the BSA Tour Of Nilgiris in such style.
As for me, it might appear that my role as the Official Blogger is over but I have more stories to share.
Stay tuned!

Written by Sangfroid

December 24, 2009 at 5:55 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good coverage Gaurav.
    Would like to hear more on the tour.. for sure there are lot more stories to be told…

    frnzi

    December 24, 2009 at 5:59 pm

  2. Hmmm.. so wat r ur thoughts of returning next year.. We can do a video shoot this time(for the contest) đŸ˜€

    Gautam

    December 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  3. Cool quick bytes and digests dude.
    Im loving it. waiting for more from u on TFN and of course others as well. It was great 8 days, sitting with u on the pillion. Thanks. lets catch up frequently.

    peevee

    December 25, 2009 at 7:33 am

  4. 38 bends, no?

    Malvika

    December 29, 2009 at 11:50 am


Leave a Reply

