Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Mean Machines could still get Meaner, with a little TLC

with 14 comments

Q. What do you call a cyclist who doesn’t wear a helmet?
A. An organ donor

Q. What do you call a cyclist on the BSA Tour Of Nilgiris who doesn’t bring along a serviced bike?
A. A suicide bomber

Organ donation is a noble gesture but, definitely not in the manner stated above. If I were to ask you which one of the above two kinds you’d like to pick for the tour. What would you have said? I asked myself the same question and had a hard time in arriving at a conclusion.

Having said that, I would rather take the organ donor than a suicide bomber for the considerable difference in the quantum of chaos that each is likely to cause, and the subsequent logistical challenges.

Team BSA TFN has been fortunate to have the support of Track&Trail which hosted a Bike Clinic, at their showroom, spread over two days (Dec 11-12). As I pen this down, there are riders getting their bikes in mint condition at the clinic.

This is what some riders on the tour had to say about the Track&Trail Bike Clinic –

At work, at T&T

BSA TFN and T&T

    Manjula Sridhar – My bike feels so good and is completely fit for TFN. Great Service!
    Sameer Shisodia – I rode out with a very quiet bike! Great job T&T.
    Suntosh Kumar G – Rakesh (at Track n Trails) is a helpful chap & also the service man was good.

For riders who were not able to make it to the clinic or those who chose to opt out, there is no need to panic. There will be full-time mechanics accompanying the riders on the tour. And of course, there will be the Samaritan fellow rider willing to help you out, when needed. But the assumption here is that your bike is in a pristine avatar before the tour.

As for me, I’m not riding a cycle this time around. But whenever I do, I’ll make sure it is in perfect shape and of course, I’ll wear a helmet. Now, before you say Papa Don’t Preach, I’ll go and pick Madonna(my bike, for the uninitiated) from AutoService. She has been there all day for her regular dose of TLC.

Written by Sangfroid

December 12, 2009 at 9:20 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So are you riding too ?

    Winnie the poohi

    December 12, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    • Yes. I’ll ride, but not cycle.
      But I’ll sure give it a shot on some occasion during the tour 🙂

      Sangfroid

      December 14, 2009 at 10:54 am

  2. Hey but I thought you would use a bike and not a motor bike! But anyway have fun. And watermark your pictures 😀

    Mridula

    December 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    • Motor-bike, this time around.
      And thanks for the watermark suggestion. Comes just in time 😀

      Sangfroid

      December 14, 2009 at 10:55 am

  3. HAHAHA….I had being both (but not at any rally)
    I drove an unserviced cycle without helmets many times..

    Tarun

    December 12, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    • That is all right, I guess. But riding on a highway is different from city riding 🙂
      Better safe than sorry!

      Sangfroid

      December 14, 2009 at 10:56 am

  4. Its only the so-called ‘leisure cyclists’ who are so bothered about wearing a bicycle helmet. I am yet to see a single person on your regular doodhwala cycle who wears a helmet, though I’d say they are the category who should be wearing helmets coz most often they are the sole bread earners for the family.
    Bottom line – not wearing bicycle helmet makes you an organ donor – is absolute crap. see http://www.stat.columbia.edu/~cook/movabletype/archives/2006/09/should_you_wear.html to get the real picture.

    vasu

    December 13, 2009 at 1:00 am

    • Vasu, I like the reports(numbers, %ages) such research produce but limit their use for my amusement, rather than abiding by them.

      Bottom line is that one’s safety is one’s prerogative. Does not matter if you are a sole or co bread earner.

      And that ‘organ donor’ was mere jest 🙂

      Sangfroid

      December 14, 2009 at 11:00 am

  5. They couldn’t have chosen a better person to cover the Tour. 🙂

    sam

    December 14, 2009 at 8:54 am

    • I too think so 😛
      Will give my best. Stay tuned.

      Sangfroid

      December 14, 2009 at 11:00 am

  6. Even I was under the presumption that you were cycling.. VB was telling me that you don’t seem to be in shape to cycle for that long, and I was saying he would have certainly hit the gym with a vengeance 🙂 Guess VB was right 😛

    and dude, maintain a separate page on your blog where you could link all TFN posts chronologically.

    Enjoy the ride!

    Kunal

    December 14, 2009 at 11:58 am

  7. i have a friend who once took his cycle all the way to ladakh from dilli. phew. they had many adventures together on truck backs and train carriers. sometimes, he rode it too. 🙂

    mentalie

    December 14, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    • I can only imagine!
      Must have been one helluva trip 😀

      Sangfroid

      December 15, 2009 at 8:55 am


Leave a Reply

