Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

The ‘Improbable’ Cyclist

with 6 comments

The opening of this piece is being risked by a mention of Himesh Reshammiya but there’s something about his latest flick which hits the nail on the head. It’s complicated – says the tag line. The trailers depict the movie, Radio, as a relationship tutorial. You might have no intention of catching it but I’m sure you’d agree to the fact that relationships are, indeed, complicated. Across relationships, entities vie for attention, affection, respect and what not.

My love for theater is an old one. We’ve been in a stable relationship for long now. Apart from the odd screw-up, it has been quite rewarding I must say.
Cycling, on the other hand, is still eye-candy for me. I like it. I get thrilled by the thought. But am I ready for a commitment? I do not know, yet. Few weeks ago, an evening at Alliance Francaise was an occasion to further mull over the thought.

VODOThe Cyclist – a stage act, with cycling as its theme, provided for a threesome opportunity. Me, my theatrical love and my liking for cycling. An earlier rendezvous with VODO, Silence! The Court Is In Session, had been a treat and thereby, the expectations were sky high this time around. Unfortunately, at the end of it, my cyclist buddy and I were unanimous in writing off the play. The characters were ambiguous. Personally speaking, it was difficult for me to decipher the age group of the protagonist. A certain goof-up was that even after having pedaled for a long while, the protagonist lands up at his neighbors gate.
I find it cruel to badmouth creativity. So here’s offering some solace. The act had its moments. Trivia revolving around the history of cycling was thrown in effortlessly. The comic sequence whereby the priest oscillates from one end of the stage to another, on a make-shift skateboard, was funny. Like many literary works, this script was open to interpretations, I suppose. Because if there was a definitive conclusion, I certainly missed it.

For me, it was more of a psychological journey than a geographical one. And, as with any discussion about the future of a relationship, the evening left me with ample food for thought.

Being on the Tour Of Nilgiris as the Official Blogger means a great opportunity for numerous undertakings, primarily giving this relationship a serious thought.

I foresee what will be, eventually. For the moment, I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Written by Sangfroid

November 15, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Posted in TFN, Theatre

Tagged with , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the way you begin this post and connect it to rest of the content.. neat!! 🙂

    sam

    November 16, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    • Glad that it came out as intended and also that you liked it 🙂

      Sangfroid

      November 16, 2009 at 7:33 pm

  2. In all probability you would be using their official blog or you would use this space.

    Mridula

    November 16, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  3. nice post. Great Read!

    TfnGuy

    November 20, 2009 at 12:45 pm


Leave a Reply

