Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

The Soldier, The Beau

with 16 comments

Earlier today, it was brought to my notice by a longtime dear friend from school that she always knew I had a sordid imagination and also that this blog (was it the blog or just the stories?) is a job done well. I couldn’t help being amused. The next moment I was overwhelmed with nostalgia and I wanted to be a kid again. All right, that was exaggeration but then memories from school did surface.

I vividly remember a certain performance, the dress we wore to look worthy soldiers, the pretty maids, et al. Until today, I didn’t know that the lyrics had been tampered with. I attribute it to keeping it simple for the kids.
Anyways, following is the song which we performed in standard … (I don’t remember) :-

Soldier, soldier will you marry me,
For I love to be with you,
Oh, my pretty maid i can’t marry you,
For I have no shirt to put on.

So she ran fast to the tailor shop,
As fast as she could run,
Bought him a shirt, of the very very best,
And the soldier put it on.

Soldier, soldier will you marry me,
For I love to be with you,
Oh, my pretty maid i can’t marry you,
For I have no shoes to put on.

So she ran fast to the cobbler shop,
As fast as she could run,
Bought him shoes, of the very very best,
And the soldier put it on.

Soldier, soldier will you marry me,
For I love to be with you,
Oh, my pretty maid i can’t marry you,
For I have no hat to put on.

So she ran fast to the garment shop,
As fast as she could run,
Bought him a hat, of the very very best,
And the soldier put it on.

Now tell me soldier, will you marry me
For I love to be with you,
Oh, my pretty maid i can’t marry you,
For I have a … wife at home,
For I have a … wife at home,
For I have a … wife at home.

And this, in all probability, is the original one.

Written by Sangfroid

September 16, 2009 at 10:41 am

Posted in Mumbo Jumbo

Tagged with , ,

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How appropriate for small toddlers 😀

    Mridula

    September 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    • Guess so. But afair, I wasn’t a toddler then. Not sure though 🙂

      Sangfroid

      September 21, 2009 at 11:40 am

  2. 🙂 soldier soldier couldn’t you say that before i got u the hat and a loud thwack soon after!

    Ani

    September 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  3. you made the pretty maid work a lot for nothing 🙂

    Kunal

    September 16, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  4. talk about brainwashing impressionable young minds…i hope you grew up to fund your own wardrobe, sangfroid? 🙂
    my favourite song from the school days was made up by some genius kid way before my time. it kept passing from one generation of students to another. i don’t remember the beginning, but it ended something like this:
    …teacher teacher i declare,
    i can see your underwear!
    is it black or is it white?
    oh my god, it’s dynamite!

    mentalie

    September 17, 2009 at 12:19 am

    • LOL!!
      What really ? That is an awesome closing para 😀

      Sangfroid

      September 21, 2009 at 11:42 am

  5. Both d blog and d stories , she says is a job well done 🙂 Keep the pen rolling and the imagination working !

    P

    September 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

  6. I agree to mentalie.. talk about brainwashing!!

    Winnie the Poohi

    September 17, 2009 at 2:44 am

    • Unfortunately or fortunately that is what kids are subjected to. But it’s fun looking back and finding it so amusing 🙂

      Sangfroid

      September 21, 2009 at 11:44 am

  7. Its nice and funny travelling down the memory lane.. 🙂

    sam

    September 21, 2009 at 10:26 am

  8. Poor maid! Funny.
    Thanks for the colloquial translation. You made it less gay 😀

    Vivek

    September 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

  9. 🙂

    Sangfroid

    September 23, 2009 at 2:14 am


Leave a Reply

