Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

From ‘My Friend Sancho’ to ‘Paths of Glory’

with 5 comments

I got the privilege of attending two book launches in a span of three days. No I wasn’t invited to these nor did I pay for it. You see, it was open for all. So if you happen to be from Bangalore and could not make it in spite of being desirous to attend, you can sit back and sulk.

Others could probably let the disappointment rest by considering it as one of the perks of being in Bangalore. Mind you although a recent survey named Bangalore as the most livable city in India, it does not improve its dismal rankings in the global list. Therefore I do not consider staying here, a privilege bestowed upon me but having said that, there are numerous aspects to cheer about. A case in point are these book launches!

my-friend-sancho-cover

(Image from indiauncut.com)

Saturday, May 16th saw the launch of ‘My Friend Sancho’ – debut novel from Amit Varma of the India Uncut fame, at Crosswords. The book marks Hachette’s first India publication. The author was in conversation with Anjum Hasan who had already read the book in great detail.

At the end of it, after a quick tete-a-tete with Amit, I got my copy signed and left. The novel is a coffee table read and is highly local in its appeal. Anjum was of the opinion that is has the Mumbai flavor. Amit went a step further calling it a Lokhandwala story. The use of slangs, according to me, is taken a tad too far. It is difficult, even according to experts, to stamp a genre onto it. It was a fun read nonetheless and I would recommend it. For those with an aversion to lizards, do not get confused by the cover – it is not about a talking reptile. It is a contemporary love story, but not without a reasonably good plot. Ratings and all is not my cuppa tea but guess it is customary when doing a review, so I’ll go with a 3.5 on 5!

SirJA-Landmark

(Image from mybangalore.com)

Then Monday, May 18th was the biggie. Sir Jeffrey Archer was in town as part of the Landmark India tour. He is as good an orator as he is a storyteller. The turnout for the event, as expected, was huge. He too was overwhelmed with the response. In hindsight I wish I had a recording device to have captured it all. Some tidbits from the session:-

    Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less was rejected by 14 publishers before making the cut. 25k copies of the same are printed each month till date.
    20-20 is not cricket. It is rubbish. VVS Laxman, Rahul Dravid … when they come back to bat the next day. That is cricket. (Purists can’t understand anything but test matches. Can they?)
    He wants to join the SP because they’ll ban computers and he writes using a pen and paper. Besides, they’ll ban English too but he is the only English author to be published in six regional languages here.
    He even narrated a paragraph of one of his yet to be published short stories. A love story set in Mumbai.

‘Paths of Glory’ is inspired by a real story – that of the great George Mallory.
I got my copy signed from the master but have yet not read it. However, I could do away with the rating even now. It has to be a 5 on 5!

Keep Reading!!

Written by Sangfroid

May 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. damn it! I feel so envious of you, I wish I could have attended those book launches 😦 Rarely is there any such release in Hyderabad 😦

    Anyway, I’ve read “Paths of Glory” and would surely give it a 4.5/5. It is an awesome book… 🙂

    By the way, care to exchange you copy of “Paths of Glory” with mine? 😛

    Kunal

    May 20, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    • Yup, this is just one of the many advantages BLR has over HYD 😛

      I’m willing to part with my copy but make an offer I can’t reject 🙂 Simple barter wont work!

      Sangfroid

      May 21, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  2. Wonderful !!!

    Gauresh Mehra

    May 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    • Thanks for dropping by. Just wondering what is wonderful – my post or the book launches 😛

      Sangfroid

      May 24, 2009 at 1:39 am

  3. I missed it 😦 I was working!

    Winnie the Poohi

    June 9, 2009 at 7:16 pm


Leave a Reply

