Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

On Road Trips :: 78mm aka ‘Larger Than Life’ Adventures

with 7 comments

The phone vibrated. Early for a Saturday morning, I lazily answered it with a lethargic Hi hoping that my friend would have pity and call me later. A minute into the conversation and I was out of bed, talking to him animatedly, simultaneously admiring my stubble in the mirror.

For me – travel, road-trips or anything even remotely related to it generates instant euphoria. More so, when the circuit is as challenging and adventurous as Ladakh. While I blurted out name after name (Pang, Sarchu, Leh, Gata Loops and the likes) to him deciding on his itinerary, my Ladakh trip from last year came flashing back. Priorities for the summer of 2009 are set otherwise I would have been heading to nature’s lap in the Himalayas, this year too.

I’m caught up but maybe you are not and are indeed contemplating … on a vacation amidst serene surroundings, on a road-trip, on camping by the riverside, on doing that trek. If so, read on. Even if that isn’t the case, read on. You might as well change your mind and be a part of this adventure called – Road Trip to the Forbidden Land.

78mm-road-trip

The detailed brochure can be downloaded here. Give it a shot and be blown away.
The mode of travel is no constraint. You could get your cruisers, 4×4 or hire one. Going by the itinerary, these 9 days promise loads of adventure for the adrenalin junkie in you. Registrations have already started. Hurry before the seats fill up.

For latest updates, join live discussion at the 78mm Adventures forum and get all doubts clarified.

I, for one, have no doubts about the fun and adventure that lies in store for whoever embarks on this 9 day road trip. But as luck would have it, the possibility of yours truly doing epic road trips, such as this or Ladakh, in 2009 is ruled out.
In hopes of appeasing my wanderlust with a short trip in South India while you(I hope) unravel secrets of the forbidden land.

Written by Sangfroid

April 25, 2009 at 8:00 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you tempt me 🙂
    but alas cannot 😦

    Kunal

    April 25, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    • I’m tempted too but leaves are ruled out for a long time to come 😐

      Sangfroid

      April 26, 2009 at 11:54 am

  2. 🙂 and i just got goosebumps reading this! thanks bro!

    Ani

    April 26, 2009 at 10:45 am

    • Glad that it created the desired effect 🙂

      Sangfroid

      April 26, 2009 at 11:57 am

  3. Hi Sangfroid… Team 78mm takes a bow for this beautifully written article … I hope to ride with you on this …road trip ….you’ll be able to make it for the trip!!!!

    Vivek a.k.a highopes

    April 26, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  4. its an honour for us to get that kind of intuitive thought. Thanks from team 78mm

    Jeet

    April 26, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  5. Vivek / Jeet, It was my pleasure to pen this down! I so wish to ride too. Spiti, Lahaul is a dream circuit. But doing it this time around … well, ‘Never Say No’ but seems difficult 😐

    Sangfroid

    April 27, 2009 at 6:21 pm


Leave a Reply

