Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Divine Intervention

with 10 comments

There are occasions when the occurrence of a particular event leaves one baffled and no reasoning seems to justify what ensues.

Where logic fails, divinity enters! Even when in hindsight I fail to assign a reason, I term it as Divine Intervention. In other words Destiny, although I hate to admit this.

Ten minutes last evening was all that it took me to have a bleeding and swollen nose. Of course I feel bad about the whole incident. More so because it was over and done in such a short span of time that I hardly had the time to regain my senses.

In a lighter vein, the nasty incident gave me the subject for this blog post. Am I an incorrigible blogger? (Trying to smile at the last line but my nose hurts … Ouch!)

The sorry tale follows:-


After bidding adieu for the evening, I set out for home with my pillion. Two minutes on the road and I see another bike trying to take a U turn (From the left most part of the road to the the right most … just like moving horizontally across the road and that too where the road curves) I honked and waved my hand indicating him to wait. The biker continued to move forward disregarding any indicators. It was only when the two vehicles were in colliding range that he braked and stared. I uttered a profanity and rode ahead. Moments later I see that I am being followed. Well, I’m not the one to show my back and run away. So, I slowed down and stopped.

Before I could even park Madonna, the rider raced towards me pushing me back. I barely managed to hold on to her. While I was trying to regain balance, I was bestowed a thundering punch on my nose. I did not even realize that bleeding had started too. What next, traffic came to a semi-halt. People gathered and there were questions like – “Who’s fault?” floating all around in the air. My pillion came to my rescue and stopped the raging bull from charging anymore. I did not even get a chance to return the favor. He was pulled to a corner and calmed down. A few minutes later he came back saying -“Mind your language”. I retorted with a – “Learn to ride”. I thought of noting down his vehicle number (This is a small world after all) but it was too dark. What more, I do not even remember his face.

And that is the reason, I call it ‘Divine Intervention’. It gives me a feeling that he was from another world and had some urgent message to deliver. Which he did and vanished into oblivion.

My pillion was more upset than me. Despite the pain and the blood, it was me who made light of the whole situation saying that I do not remember the last time I was party to such a duel. And moreover, when I was beaten up like this.


I definitely cannot say -“All is well that ends well” but the die-hard optimistic in me believes that it could have been worse considering there were big boulders lying all around the action scene.

Well … it is time for some steam-therapy in the hope that there aren’t any fractured ligaments!

Written by Sangfroid

January 28, 2009 at 9:53 am

Posted in Bangalore, Mumbo Jumbo

Tagged with , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. man… that was shocking! i might hv lost all my control – u got a lot of control on ur temper, bro 🙂

    aNoop aka --xh--

    January 28, 2009 at 11:14 am

  2. ouch! dude how could you let that guy get away with hitting you?
    get well soon, and let your nose have some rest…

    Kunal

    January 28, 2009 at 12:13 pm

  3. Anoop, Yes … I let go off the ‘Killer Instinct’ long back and control my temper quite well. Having said that, this particular incident didn’t give me a chance to retaliate. They guy was out of my reach all the time except when he hit me. Sad!

    Kunal, I am all for ‘An Eye For An Eye’ justice. The only way I could have done that was running after him but was held back. It would have been totally filmy, I tell ya

    Sangfroid

    January 28, 2009 at 1:06 pm

  4. from the bottom of your broken nose eh?! 😉

    hope u ok?!

    InsaneTwit

    January 29, 2009 at 9:05 pm

  5. Ani, I’m doing just fine but the nose still aches 😦

    Sangfroid

    January 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

  6. Damn, sounds like you were somewhere in Delhi/ NCR where such occurences are more prominent, instead of Bangalore..

    I hope you are doing fine.. and I throughly believe in the devine intervention thingy, totally!! 🙂

    Take care!! 🙂

    sam

    February 3, 2009 at 3:09 pm

  7. Sam, thanks! I’m good 🙂

    Sangfroid

    February 3, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  8. owz the nose?! 🙂 all set for another punch yet?! 😉

    InsaneTwit

    February 8, 2009 at 9:38 pm

  9. Ani, The head n along with it the nose … is held high 🙂 Punches, if accepted would be returned with due diligence this time around!

    You back from the Himalayan adventure ?

    Sangfroid

    February 10, 2009 at 6:57 pm

  10. 😀 awwsum! yup meez back and backs to work and boy this city is hottttt!!!!!!! 😉

    InsaneTwit

    February 11, 2009 at 6:22 pm


Leave a Reply

