Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Mistaken Identity

with 14 comments

Akismet does it for me over here and does a pretty neat job at that.

Simply reporting spam in most email service providers works well too.

There may be other mechanisms to deviate unsolicited junk in this highly connected virtual space but …

What does one do when time and again his mailbox is greeted with a personal message which is meant for somebody else (whose parents decided to give him the same name as yours truly) ?

These mails have been as varied as one could imagine –

  • Asking for approval for a project (Flattering … eh ?)
  • Deciding on the team and place for cricket matches (I love cricket as a sport but Sir, I don’t know you)
  • Matrimonial alliances (But I thought marriages were made in heaven. You just shook my entire belief system. I’m shattered)
  • Bank Account statements (Way to go! Going green is the mantra but then I don’t recall opening an a/c with your bank. Or wait … are we talking of Hedge Funds)
  • Harmless chain mail forwards (Yea right! As long as email storage is free. I give a damn)

Long long ago … when it all began, with utmost patience I always replied mentioning that there had been a mistake and that I wasn’t the intended recipient. And, one in a zilllion times I was thanked for pointing it out and subsequently mails from that emailid ceased to arrive.

But as time progressed, patience took a backseat and nonchalance took over. In silence, I watched my inbox being bombarded day in day out.

Something interesting today morning forced me to break this silence. I had been receiving loads of chain mail forwards from this one female since the last couple of months. Cartoons, Jokes, Poems – you name it!

I would glance by the content depending on the subject sometimes but today there was no subject and perforce I had to open the mail.

All that it had was two snaps of this slightly chubby young lass in a typical Indian outfit. Beauty is something which I never fail to admire and hence I replied (I see raised eyebrows! Well … I had to) with a ‘Hi’ mentioning that she looked fab in the red outfit.

Minutes later I got the following reply –


“Who r u????

These pics were not meant 4 u….these were meant 4 my hubby….extremely sorry….”


I smiled and deleted the email!

Written by Sangfroid

January 14, 2009 at 3:13 pm

Posted in Mumbo Jumbo

Tagged with , ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lol

    obelix

    January 14, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  2. ROTFLMAO

    Sandeep

    January 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  3. πŸ™‚

    pkj

    January 14, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  4. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    InsaneTwit

    January 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

  5. perfect blog to paste my recent conv
    from Rice, Margaret
    to jayaram.k
    subject Comsys – Allstate Ins – long term project

    Hi Jayaram

    Thank you for your time and I look forward to working with you on this long-term **** contract in Hudson (Cleveland) Ohio and also Chicago IL. The job specs and my contact info below.

    from jayaram. k
    to “Rice, Margaret”
    date Tue, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:55 PM
    subject Re: Comsys – Allstate Ins – long term project

    hi Margaret,

    I think you have the wrong Jayaram?

    from Rice, Margaret
    to “jayaram.k”
    subject RE: Comsys – Allstate Ins – long term project

    Gosh, hope not. Didn’t we speak yesterday about this contract? The Jayaram I spoke with has a cell phone beginning with 732 and is a Win Admin.

    That isn’t you?

    from jayaram. k
    to “Rice, Margaret”
    subject Re: Comsys – Allstate Ins – long term project

    No definetly not me Margaret, I am a program manager with Microsoft. Except for the fact that the other Jayaram administers Windows and I help actually build it, I dont think there is anything similar πŸ™‚ . And for the record, my number begins with 425.

    jayaram

    January 14, 2009 at 11:45 pm

  6. πŸ™‚ interesting post .. I guess everyone is victim of this issue in some form or other..

    Rakesh

    January 15, 2009 at 8:13 am

  7. rofl πŸ˜€
    and lol @ Jayaram

    Kunal

    January 15, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  8. i seem to be lucky in this area πŸ˜‰

    btw, make sure this does’nt happen with your kids, do use a random password generator before naming them πŸ˜› (Wait !!! do i see a business op here?)

    or use email id’s like sreejith’s hsbc one =))

    sanyam

    January 15, 2009 at 2:40 pm

  9. Obelix, Sandeep, Parry, Ani, Kunal – πŸ˜€

    Jaya, Man you don’t miss a chance to flaunt that you are a PM with M$ πŸ˜›

    Rocky, yup … no doubt!

    Sanyam, lol @ Sreejith’s id. That mailbox was sure spam free. Maybe, mail free too πŸ˜›

    Sangfroid

    January 15, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  10. Lol, but don’t you think it isn’t entirely their fault, you do happen to have a common name!! πŸ˜‰

    Sam, lol @ Sreejith’s id. That mailbox was sure spam free. Maybe, mail free too : Is that for me??

    sam

    January 20, 2009 at 11:44 am

  11. Opps, I got my answer after reading the initial comments!! πŸ˜›

    sam

    January 20, 2009 at 11:47 am

  12. Sam, I love my name! This is a free world. Anyone can mail anyone anytime πŸ™‚

    That wasn’t for you. I have edited it in order to avoid any further confusion πŸ˜›

    Sangfroid

    January 20, 2009 at 12:39 pm

  13. I found this link over the net – http://wikimapia.org/218303/Gaurav-Srivastava-House. This place is somewhere in lucknow, now don’t tell me you don’t live here :O :O :O

    :X~ notmanish

    January 21, 2009 at 5:26 pm

  14. Mani, Nope! not my place πŸ™‚

    Sangfroid

    January 23, 2009 at 12:17 am


Leave a Reply

