Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Ladakh Ride – The Thank You’s

with 17 comments

This post (well not really this one 😛 ) has been due for long!
Yea, I was back in Delhi on Sunday, the 22nd of June 2008, from what can easily be called the trip of a lifetime. Riding on the highest motor able mountain passes in the world at heights which scare many by their mere mention. Camping at places I never thought I could … it had all the makings of an adventure TV Series. Time flies … nearly 2 weeks have passed since then and all I now have are the sweet memories of those 15 days. I so wish to do the circuit again … sigh!

Before I take a dive in to memory lane and get all nostalgic, let me offer my heartfelt gratitude to folks without whom this trip would not have materialized.

    First and foremost, Chamoli bhai … errr Chamoli ‘Dada’ … for being my ride partner. As a matter of fact, it was me who joined after a lot of groundwork was already done by him and Surbhit – the third rider in this odyssey. I am keeping my promise of elevating him to the ‘Dada’ level if we came back alive from Ladakh 😛 I am glad that we did return unscathed although Madonna took a lot of beating 😦 (more on that later)

    Bajaj, for the Avenger – the low maintenance cruiser they came up with is a proven winner.

    My parents because they allowed me to do this and have always given in to my whims. Mom tells me that she wouldn’t get proper sleep the day I didn’t call. Damn the networks! (By the way, Airtel was the one which worked at most places)

    All my friends who gave me a thumbs up before the ride! (I stopped calling/pinging people who narrated tales of mishaps on the circuit and emphasized how life threating this decision was. Balls to them)

    Jayan dada, the hard copy of whose blog post I was carrying all along 🙂 (I am not sure if anyone would refer to this post for getting Leh’d. Guess it has loads of blah blah but who cares!)

    Jagan, Rajjo, Darbari and Chandu for being wonderful hosts every time I show up in NCR!

    Last but not the least, Sunil Dhummi – a fellow rider and BN‘er who in a split second agreed to lend me his Cramster Outback. It served me well all through and I’ll make sure it is returned to him in pristine form.

I am not too sure how to frame this post. Writing typical (maps and the likes) travelogues is not my cup of tea although I tend to organize my travel posts chronologically … but sans photographs, which I have been advised I should include. Hence, get ready for a visual treat as you read on.

-D
The twisties … 😀 [ Day VI ]

[ More updates coming soon … Any ideas on how to present most welcome!! 🙂 ]

Written by Sangfroid

July 5, 2008 at 1:50 am

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. be our guest dude…u r always welcome to Noida…and lets do another ladakh trip .. next year..

    sandeep

    July 6, 2008 at 3:09 am

  2. :O where are your office guys!!! If they were not willing to take up some of your burden, you would not have got the leave!!! 😉

    notmanish

    July 6, 2008 at 8:24 am

  3. Chandu, even if I’m not welcome … I’ll show up 😛 Ladakh again sounds so tempting … slurrrrpppp!
    you plan for your leaves first!

    Mani, 🙂 that is included in friends! And lets not talk about the burden part 😛

    Sangfroid

    July 6, 2008 at 10:39 am

  4. dude just post all pics, put in details about each (better do this in picasaweb) and turn everyone green with envy ….
    after seeing the pic you posted, I have turned a light shade of green, once you out up all pics, I don’t what shade it would bee 😛

    Kunal

    July 6, 2008 at 10:52 am

  5. Awesome!! 🙂 This sounds fantastic.. And I don’t know how you put it up but am waiting for the details WITH the pictures, so hurry up!! 😛

    sam

    July 7, 2008 at 9:38 am

  6. saw the pics @ orkut and the short version fo trip log here.. man, no words to say… 😀 congrats on completing the trip 😀

    anoop aka --xh--

    July 7, 2008 at 10:29 am

  7. And I forgot to complement you on your template.. it looks devine, with a halo kinda light surrounding your head!! 😀

    sam

    July 7, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  8. Kunal, that’s so time consuming but u know what … I thought and I will do it 🙂 btw, ‘Go Green’ is the mantra these days 😛

    Sam, Coming up babes. I hate procrastination but … 😛
    And, thanks for the compliment. I call it the Halo of Wisdom 🙂

    Anoop, thanks buddy! come back for more 🙂

    Sangfroid

    July 7, 2008 at 1:10 pm

  9. nice, congrats!
    upload the pics somewhere

    jsr

    July 7, 2008 at 4:51 pm

  10. ~ jealous! jealous! jealous! 😀

    kudos dude!! :))) waiting for the details!!

    Ani

    July 13, 2008 at 2:42 pm

  11. Jayan Dada, thankq! will do it soon 🙂

    Ani, thanks. details coming up anytime now 🙂

    Sangfroid

    July 15, 2008 at 5:45 am

  12. you gave us a very abridged version na…so waiting to read the whole story! And you are also welcome in lko 😛

    Sreejith

    July 30, 2008 at 4:43 am

  13. waiting for details “ladakh ride” is on my list for quite sometime now.

    Thejesh GN

    August 11, 2008 at 1:13 am

  14. Sreejith, The wait shall be over soon! And thanks for welcoming me to my home town 😉

    Thej, Even if you get it off the list you would want to bring it back to the list, you know what i mean 😉 Details coming soon!

    Sangfroid

    August 11, 2008 at 7:30 pm

  15. […] Ladakh Ride – The Celebrated Moments Jump to Comments A follow up on the last post of my, now, not-so-recent Ladakh Bike Trip […]

  16. […] my Ladakh Ride earlier in June this year, I had spotted a few foreigners near Sarchu, Himachal Pradesh (at an […]

  17. […] name after name (Pang, Sarchu, Leh, Gata Loops and the likes) to him deciding on his itinerary, my Ladakh trip from last year came flashing back. Priorities for the summer of 2009 are set otherwise I would have […]


Leave a Reply

