Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Summer Funk 2008

with 8 comments

For the uninitiated, this post is about Shiamak Davar’s Institute Of Performing Arts (SDIPA) and in particular the Summer Funk which concluded last Saturday.

Although I’m no rock star but Dance and Music have been a stimulant since childhood. I can recall more than one occasion during school when I was a member of the choir or the troupe but dancing on stage as an adult … well, that is a recent development πŸ™‚

I will go gaga over a lot of things in what follows and would also put forth a few suggestions.

The D Day – May 31, 2008


The troupe was to gather at 0745 at the Indian Heritage Academy (our venue for the classes, more on that later) and leave for Ambedkar Bhavan. Got a few calls around that time but I was predetermined to reach a tad late for the simple reason that the first show was scheduled for 1300. Besides, 0800 was too early!

When we(Nid, She and Myself) reached the venue, the jive session had just gotten over and it was time for the technical rehearsals, so we were not late technically πŸ˜›

Each batch was to perform on stage in a pre-determined order. This was the first time we saw the SPB (Special Potential Batch) and the Instructors perform. They set the stage on fire while grooving to Dil Haara from Tashan and a track from Race respectively. It was quite a visual!

Our technical rehearsal did not flatter Snigdha(our instructor) We goofed up in the prop section big time and there were other errors too. However, we had time on our hands and were keen to put up a good show so a number of rehearsals were done before the afternoon show. Our turn came at around 1500 and the overall verdict was that it was just average. I, for one, was following Ash blindly and therefore erred in the last few bars as he missed those.
I definitely do not feel proud of the fact that I did not remember the steps thoroughly even till the last day 😦

Anyways, the next show was scheduled for 1800, so we had a lot of time to kill. After gorging on poori, sabzee and chutney (thanks to Renu for the generosity) I ventured out with Pri and Tan to catch some fresh air where we blah-blahed for a while before returning to our Dug-Out πŸ˜›

A bunch of us including Sai, Tus, Sne, Dee, Sri, Tan set out for Sigma mall. After some chai paani, window shopping and some more window shopping, just as we were about to head back, it started to rain cats and dogs and we were stuck at the mall for another hour. Meanwhile, Tan had scampered across the street and was hanging out at Reliance TimeOut.

A call from Pri ensured that the second show had not started until 1830. Although the rains had not ceased, we decided it was high time to reach the auditorium. Since I had tickets for the show, I went to the balcony with Pri to catch some action. We got to see a lot of junior batches before the break just after which it was time for our second and final performance.

Meanwhile Ash messaged that he got drenched in the rains and would be missing the second show. My instant reaction was “Who will I follow now?” πŸ˜› He was my anchor in the scattered positions.
Fortunately, our performance was well applauded and I think we did a good job. It was fun all the way!

This was followed by the distribution of tees and certificates (more on that later). After which most chose to head home, some stayed back to catch the remaining performances and the 4 of us (Tan, Sne, Nid and Me) started hunting for a cab.

After much deliberation, the venue for dinner was decided as Bayleaf and we were joined by Tus and Sne’s hubby too.

It was past 2330 when I reached home after walking Nid to hers.

Slept well and content

The Start


When I did the Beginners batch in February, little did I know that SDIPA would become a way of life. We worked really hard for the presentation then and put up a good show. It was on Rihana’s ‘Shut Up and Drive’ Although I was not too sure of doing the Summer Funk then, I was one of the first ones to register when the day came. It was spontaneous and I did not think twice πŸ™‚

It is a different matter that I missed many classes this time around and the practice was zilch. Excuses are not my thing but somehow I did not put in as much effort as I thought I would do. Anyways, all is well that ends well. I watch dance moves more closely now counting bars at the same time. Who knows I might actually be a rock star someday πŸ™‚

Concerns/Suggestions


1) The Venue: IHA sucks (at least the hall allotted to us). Mirrored walls is a basic requirement for learning dance. Fitness One is an ideal candidate!
2) The Funk Day: Could be less hectic if the technical rehearsals are done a priori. Two shows with the wait in between are enough to drain one out.
3) Certificates: Well, forget the non-lamination. Who would want more than half of the poster to be covered by a smiling Shiamak? Not me at least. Besides, over-exposure has its own repercussions. Redesigning it would be a great idea πŸ™‚

All said and done, I would cherish this day for a long long time.
And last but not the least, there were quite a few contenders for the best male/female dancer in our group. I would like to confer the honor upon Sai and She, respectively πŸ˜€
And the unanimous choice for the SPB is of course … yours truly although SPB in this case is the ‘Slow Potential Batch’ πŸ˜›

Written by Sangfroid

June 4, 2008 at 12:32 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool… just saw the pics.. seems you have already turned into a rock-star πŸ˜€

    Rakesh

    June 4, 2008 at 9:06 am

  2. nice dude πŸ™‚
    dance ke naam se main meelon door bhagunga…

    by the way any video of your performance? the pics don’t convey the spirit of the dance πŸ˜€

    Kunal

    June 4, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  3. Rakesh, thanks for the compliment buddy. As I said, I am up for SPB πŸ˜›

    Kunal, thanks! Dance is fun man! Video shooting is prohibited at performances although people slyly shoot and click. We were not able to do so somehow 😐

    Sangfroid

    June 5, 2008 at 10:12 am

  4. hmmm….

    notmanish

    June 5, 2008 at 11:10 am

  5. Sure looks a lot of fun πŸ˜€ though am not the dancing types really!! 😦

    sam

    June 5, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  6. Manish, ummm πŸ™‚

    Sam, that makes the two of us πŸ™‚

    Sangfroid

    June 5, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  7. Hi,

    Please seen photos of summer funk 2008 ahmedabad, my son akash perfom well in Nagada dance. Please see photos

    Shiamak Davar - Summer Funk 2008 Ahmedabad

    paavan s.

    July 1, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  8. Hello Gaurav,

    Hope you remember me it’s Nidhi here.
    Saw ur name while reading tfn as I also wrote for them in 2012.

    I’m in touch with Amit and his folks.
    Let connect. please mail me, meanwhile you can checkout my blog too http://www.momzspace.in

    Nidz

    πŸ˜ƒ

    Nidhi Pathak

    September 12, 2016 at 2:28 am


Leave a Reply

