Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Music and …

with 9 comments

There are songs and rhythms which in due course of time get so distinctly interwoven with events in one’s life.

  • Head banging is synonymous with hard rock. Rock aficionados, in spite of having a strained neck would die for this.
  • The breeze hitting the face when the wanderlust bug bites becomes all the more soothing with ballads playing in one’s head. Any biker would vouch for that.
  • Seductive dance movements go so well with any form of Salsa. Is there any doubt?

More often than not, the above said would garner unanimous agreement. But at the same time there is a subjective angle to music, which I dwell upon in this post.

I, for one, have no musical lineage what-so-ever. It is a different matter that I have been a member of the choir at various occasions but the only instance I recall of doing a solo on stage is during a competition called Quinturdles long ago in school. … Oops, digression is such a disease! Let me get back to the point.

Shakespeare once said – “If music be the food of love, play on”. Without doubt, it’s well said but could have been said better. How about – “Music! … well play on”. Who really cares if it be the food of love or food for thought.

Songs, a lot of them, bring back instant memories to me.
For instance, the not-so-old chart buster ‘Kya Mujhe Pyar Hai’ from the movie ‘Woh Lamhein’ reminds me of my initial days in Bangalore. Although, it is a straight lift from an arabic band, I loved the song and still like it.

‘In The End’ by ‘Linkin Park’ takes me back to my college days when Quake was a rage and it was in one of the Quake videos, that this track was used as a background score.

The melodious ‘Ye Un Dino Ki Baat Hai’ from the movie ‘Tum Se Accha Kaun Hai’ evokes laughter now. Semester 3 comes flashing back!

‘Heat On The Street’ by ‘Phil Collins’ reminds of the performance at Ravindralaya when I was in standard ??? We were sure of winning but we did not.
Anyways, there are various other tunes which trigger myriad mood swings. Mostly, the memories are from happy times.
People are hooked onto their music most of the times and I am no exception.

During office hours, it has been Deezer for English tracks for quite some time now. For Desi tracks, Dhingana is where I go. Besides, there are so many cool apps build around music and entertainment. iLike being the latest rage.

So much said about the songs but what are songs without words. Of course, there are instrumentals but let us keep them aside for the time being. The words of a song are its heart. Catchy tunes too get attention but these are short-lived if the wordings aren’t meaningful. We aren’t reptiles (read serpents) who can be charmed by mere tunes. We also need good … lyrics.

Written by Sangfroid

October 27, 2007 at 3:22 am

Posted in Mumbo Jumbo

Tagged with , , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i have a 6cd set of driving songs which are perfect for the ride. remind me the next time…and i say we need to seriously relive those q3dm17 days!

    Sreejith

    October 27, 2007 at 5:10 am

  2. Hey, I so love this post…I think it happens to most of us, a song reminding you of some particular phase in life, of certain people etc.. 🙂
    The ones I can recall right now are “Jaane kya hoga rama re..” from Kaante when jury at NIFT was round the corner 😉 and then “In the End” is still my all time favourite!!
    Lyrics certainly are very important, I couldn’t agree more..

    sam

    October 27, 2007 at 9:30 am

  3. Btw, this post of yours is making me think too, and if I come up with a good enough list, I just might put up a post on it too!! 😀

    sam

    October 27, 2007 at 9:32 am

  4. Sreejith, I only have a 2GB Nano … so ~3CDs at the max 😐

    btw m riding to Hampi on Nov. 23rd 🙂 u game?

    Sam, glad u liked it and saw the connection 🙂 Is your list good enough already? Post it … Post it

    Sangfroid

    November 3, 2007 at 2:16 am

  5. Interesting post Sangfroid.
    Cheers
    Vaibhav

  6. Nah..I’ll pass.. 😛
    Btw, your introduction asks us to read “other sections also”, they being??

    sam

    November 5, 2007 at 9:40 am

  7. Sam, they Coming Soon 🙂

    Sangfroid

    November 10, 2007 at 12:05 pm

  8. totally agree with the last line !!
    Good post 🙂

    ladynimue

    May 29, 2011 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

