Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

King Arthur …

with 5 comments

By the time I reached Chowdaiah Memorial, it was a tad late which made me wonder if the 50% discount on the blocked tickets would hold. Thanks to IST (Indian Stretchable Time 😉 ), it did.

The lobby was jam-packed and I scampered through the crowd to the main entrance. I had mistakenly taken the side-entrance 😛

Just when I had collected the tickets, I heard a lil furore … some sort of a jingle. Peeping over the heads helped me locate the choir … rather the actors who were doing an opening track, which went something like:-

‘Always look on the bright side of life

Always look on the bright side of death …

Life is a piece of shit when you look at it’

This was another new from team Evam. Although I could hear it only in parts, it seemed quite an appropriate start. More like an assurance that what lay in store was worth the wait and the hype.

A technical snag delayed the start but when it began … it was a quick recap of ‘Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life’.

The Pope’e act by Karthik reminded me of the fun that particular show had unleashed and I was all gripped to attention.

[ Michael Angelo paints 3 Christs, a kangaroo and 28 disciples in ‘The Last Supper’ 😀 for which the Pope’e is infuriated! ]

But what followed was (well, not entirely) … a let down to some extent. Of course I laughed heartily during the play but there was something missing and it fell short of my (and a lot of other folks I know) expectations.

I am no critic and have no authority what-so-ever to criticize these bright actors but what could have been avoided was a repetition of acts. The ‘dead parrot’ episode was enacted in the last play as well.

Dead Parrot
Sunil and Karthik in the Dead Parrot

It definitely amused people who were witnessing it for the first time and that was evident from the cheers and claps coming from them. But for many it was like – ‘Oh, I have seen this … they did the same in the last play’

Besides, the humor lacked the Evam trademark. ‘The Boss’ act was an obvious attempt to cash in on the Rajnikant fever which I found a little tacky.

The props(especially King Arthur’s horse) 😀 /costumes … the use of multimedia and the PYTs doing dance sequences was pleasing!

Brand building and marketing is absolutely necessary for a budding business like Evam but I would really appreciate if they concentrate more on the pertinent. What with an unwanted interval just to direct attention to their sponsors?

Undoubtedly, there must have been loads of sweat and toil behind this performance and I sure am game for the next one – ‘The Odd Couple’ but unfortunately this one … failed to impress. 😐

Written by Sangfroid

September 26, 2007 at 10:09 pm

Posted in Bangalore, Humor, Media, Theatre

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. all said and done it was a steal for 125 bucks! i am still smitten by those dancing girls..can’t get them out of my head 🙂

    Sreejith

    September 26, 2007 at 11:41 pm

  2. Don’t tell me, the play had some wacky dance moves too!! Damn… 🙂

    sam

    September 27, 2007 at 9:49 am

  3. The bright side of life thing is part of every evam play…you missed it at alliance coz you were late there as well!!! :O

    mani

    September 28, 2007 at 7:47 pm

  4. Hellos..long time?? 🙂

    sam

    October 3, 2007 at 7:40 pm

  5. Sreejith, sure it was but 250 would have pinched. would it not? 😉

    Sam, 🙂 they always have. Pleasing to the senses!

    Mani, I did not know that. Coming late equals loss of information 😛

    Sangfroid

    October 5, 2007 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

