Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

Intuition, Analytical Reasoning …

with 11 comments

A chilly rainy evening (if stuck in office) like the one last week would have found me overlooking the trisection (admiring the traffic sense ๐Ÿ˜› ) indulging in caffeine with doses of chit-chat thrown in.

But this was a different occasion … beating all odds(there were quite a few believe me) I finally managed to reach the venue a little more late but a little less drenched, than I expected ๐Ÿ™‚

The personality on the podium was Mr. R Gopalakrishnan.

I may not be ‘worthy’ enough to critique the content/presentation when the speaker is such a HNI ๐Ÿ˜‰ but since WordPress has generously given me this space – I have the liberty to rant.

Frankly speaking, there have been better sessions at TiE in the past and hopefully will be more in the future. The absence of an entrepreneurial flavor maybe one of the reasons for my dissatisfaction. Some amount of self-publicity is justified but there was no point in mentioning this every now and then.

Besides, the talk lacked a central theme!

What do you have to say when the human brain is compared to a mutter, nimbu and gobi? I was far from impressed.

With due respect to the luminary and his thoughts and maybe research, which I doubt has gone into his book (Oops … Did I just advertise it!), I do not think that intuition is something which has to be emphasized and inculcated. For a person who has been in a managerial role for around 40 years, if it were only the last half-decade or so that brought intuition to the forefront … I have little to say.

Anyways on a lighter note, some trivia which I gathered from the talk:-

  • F1 drivers are subjected to lateral forces upto 5g ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
  • “The love of posterity is a consequence of the necessity of death. If a man were sure of living forever here, he would not care about his offspring” (Quite apt, I believe)

Hardliners would debate the importance of intuition. Relying solely on intuition is foolishness too.

But believe me there is a middle-path which one needs to walk upon when the situation demands. Ruling out either of them in totality may not be the best option.

The bottom-line therefore is that instead of it being an OR relationship, they … go hand in hand!

Written by Sangfroid

August 31, 2007 at 7:27 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm..well being honest, a lot of it just went whoooosh..over my head but from what I derived, its funny for anyone to compare “human brains” with mutter and nimbu.. Gawd, I already feel insulted!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    And your love for connecting the begginning and the ends continiues!! If I may ask, why this sudden change in style though I do appreciate it??

    sam

    August 31, 2007 at 2:53 pm

  2. will get back to u on the TiE thing.. and you are always welcome for any F1 race at my place if interested in more F1 gyan. Beer shall be served ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Sreejith

    September 1, 2007 at 1:21 am

  3. Sam, The very appreciation maybe a reason for a change in style ๐Ÿ˜‰
    The whole nimbu/mutter analogy was so darn crappy!

    Sreejith, tempting ๐Ÿ™‚ Lets guzzle over F1 sometime!

    Sangfroid

    September 1, 2007 at 1:06 pm

  4. Okie dokie.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to more of such postings, infact will try one myself!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sam

    September 1, 2007 at 2:16 pm

  5. I do not believe in intuition as a religion. Yet when I have them, they are like the ‘gut feeling’ you just can’t ignore, because they spell survival most of the time.

    Hmm. nimbu mutter & gobi are such philosophical terms when compared to brains. That is how ppl really are. Our brains work only till a certain age, say ten years of age. After that it is all beliefs & knowledge fed from outside. We stop growing & vegetate as herds. Like nimbu mutter gobi. We can be the best nimbu or the best mutter or the best gobi though ๐Ÿ˜€

    Ps> Friday Flash Fifty five Fiction is a game being played in the blogworld very Friday.It is a piece that is to be written in 55 words, must have at least one central character and a theme. ๐Ÿ™‚

    mona

    September 1, 2007 at 4:55 pm

  6. ๐Ÿ˜€ but intuition child… especially that of a woman has been known to devastate complete civilizations!!!!

    anidadhaba

    September 3, 2007 at 11:53 pm

  7. I back Ani! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sam

    September 4, 2007 at 4:11 pm

  8. :))) and you have been tagged! visit my blog for details!

    This blog: http://naughtyspark.blogspot.com

    anidadhaba

    September 5, 2007 at 1:02 am

  9. Mona, thanks for dropping by!
    You are right about the ‘gut feeling’ and yes, i too think that there is so much that can be achieved by exercising the grey cells a lil more but conditioning ruins that!!
    will try my hand at the 5Fs sometime ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ani/Sam, ๐Ÿ˜€ I bow before thee! Though I haven’t been a part of civilizations devastated but still … no arguments. If u’ve got time read this

    Ani, I’m no gud at tags but will make an effort ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sangfroid

    September 5, 2007 at 10:51 am

  10. Read the first half and as I progressed further, the passage became meaner.. and all that theory is soooo crappy!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Sam

    September 5, 2007 at 7:28 pm

  11. Thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    sam

    September 6, 2007 at 4:21 pm


Leave a Reply

