Me … A Geek … No way!

Fiction. Travel. Tech.

BCB4, Day 1

with 6 comments

This comes a tad late (what with all the live blogging and coverage). I was having second thoughts whether to post or not. But with the unique insight that I might provide about the event, I am going ahead 😉

In the true spirit of the BarCamp and IST (Indian Stretchable Time), proceedings began almost an hour late 🙂
The introductory session in the auditorium was fun and this is how it was done – Any one from the audience volunteered to say a few words about what a BarCamp meant to him/her.

There were veterans of 4 BarCamps and more and then there was a majority who were attending their 1st ever BarCamp. There were folks whose initial impression was that a BarCamp is some kind of a boozing-camp 🙂 and then there teachers who dropped in to get a feel of what Internet was all about and wanted to know the ins and out of it!

There were VCs/Entrepreneurs and there were people like me looking forward to a chilled out and productive weekend! The crowd was enormous. Supposedly, this BarCamp recorded the highest number of registrations in history.

Anyways, with the introductions being done, it was time for the collectives to kick-in but classes for the PGSEM guys delayed it further. This time was spent in meeting up fellow BarCampers. I met up with Ritesh and Priyanka, the brains behind Hungry Bangalore.

Rajan was there as expected although I did not get to talk to him a lot. Soon it was time for the collectives to begin.

The first collective I participated in was Startups. Prof. Ram from the NSRCEL of IIMB was the speaker. It started with people from the audience who had lived through failed ventures sharing their experiences. It was a candid discussion where people asked about anything and everything that came to their mind regarding startups.

I too pitched in with … well forget it. All I got from the Prof was – “Do you want to be that specific straightaway or can wait for sometime” 😦 I obliged by saying that I can wait. Anyways with due respect to the Prof, the session got quite drab as it progressed. Fortunately the monotony was broken with the advent of other speakers and soon it got exciting.

Kartik from Picsquare and Sujoy from Sloka Telecom shared their views and both of these guys were highly practical, to say the least.

Lunch break followed during which I caught up with pals at IIMB. The IIMB campus is captivating and I got a bit nostalgic remembering the good ol’ hostel days … sigh!!

I was keen on attending the Bloggers collective but was oblivious to the fact that it was happening somewhere in the corridor. I had met up with Sanjukta earlier and told her that I had missed the bloggers meet but would attend the collective here.

In parallel, there were number of collectives going on. Apart from the hardcore tech ones, the photo/the unband/the biking were a few which people flocked to. The biking collective had my interest piqued but only later did I realize that bike meant bicycle in this case. 😮 Wonder what they were discussing!!

Unable to locate the Bloggers, I decided to check on the Mobile collective where three young guns were talking about this.

Ex-employees of the my current employer, they quit last month and are quite happy with the state of affairs. All the best guys!!

I also happened to attend a crappy session where this gentleman wanted to talk at length about User-Groups. what the heck?

It was already evening and so after some chin wagging, we set out for Chandni Chowk where over dinner I got a lot of gyan from the B-School chaps. After bidding them adieu, it was time for some real bar-camp, u know what I mean 😀

A re-run of ‘Bheja Fry’ over chilled beer, at Unni’s place ended the long day for me. Yeah, it was 4 am when I reached home not sure if I would attend Day-2 at BarCamp.

Overall, Day-1 was quite chaotic as far as the Camp was concerned but nonetheless the organizers did well by generating enough interest to pull in the huge crowd. Some collectives managed to sustain the interest level and therefore, I enjoyed the visit.

Written by Sangfroid

July 31, 2007 at 8:15 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey… World is round and just too small. Thats why we tend to meet again. It was great meeting with you at BarCamp. About the description you wrote, I must appreciate your effort of plotting Bar Camp so nicely. Hoping to c u soon.

    BanKaro Gang

    August 1, 2007 at 7:00 pm

  2. Sounds awefully interesting!! Shit, how could I miss it..;) lol..
    Well written though..:)

    sam

    August 2, 2007 at 9:04 am

  3. @BanKaro Gang: Yea rite, see you soon!! Another TiE event is coming up 🙂

    @Sam: Thanks 🙂

    Sangfroid

    August 7, 2007 at 7:34 am

  4. bar-camp :)) u make me sound bewda-ish!

    Sreejith

    August 9, 2007 at 2:26 am

  5. @Sreejith: Mend your inebriant ways 😉

    Sangfroid

    August 12, 2007 at 10:34 pm

  6. […] mentioned here, I attended the last one but was not particularly thrilled with the experience. The collectives […]


Leave a Reply

